Old Court

Minutes of the 2015 Annual General Meeting of the Peterhouse Society

D R A F T subject to approval by 2016 Annual General Meeting    


Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Peterhouse Society


Saturday 27 June 2015


The Annual General Meeting of the Peterhouse Society for 2015 was held on Saturday 27 June 2015, in the Friends of Peterhouse Theatre.


Present: the Chairman, the Treasurer and the Secretary, and about 20 members of the Society.



1.         Minutes of the Annual General Meeting, 2014


            The minutes were approved.


2.         Matters arising from the minutes


            There were no matters arising from the minutes.


3.         Chairman's report


The new Chairman, Lord Thomas, welcomed members to the Annual General Meeting.  It had been a busy year for the Society starting with the London Drinks evening at the Liberal club with a talk by Matthew Gould, the British Ambassador to Israel. Almost 100 Petreans attended the second London Carol Service at St James’ Garlickhythe in the City of London. It was a delightful occasion with a joint Peterhouse and Petrean choir augmented by one or two visitors (notably the Chairman’s wife) and followed by refreshments in a local hostelry. In February the Whittle Building was officially opened by HRH The Prince of Wales – a splendid occasion helped by the weather. The Golf Day earlier this month had again been a great success and plans are underway for another event next summer which will sadly be the Master’s last.  Particular thanks are due as always to Ann Munro and Alison Pritchard-Jones for their organisational help with all the events and the excellent communications, and a warm welcome to Holly Ashcroft who joined the team in October and is proving to be a real asset.  


4.         Treasurer's Report


Andrew McIntyre, the Treasurer, presented the Society's accounts for the year ended 31st December 2014, tabled at the meeting.  He reported that discussions continue about the possible use for the funds and that it was hoped to find a suitable object in the coming year. Mr William Knighton then pointed out that there was a typographical error in the last line of the accounts. The Treasurer thanked him for spotting this and asked the Secretary to ensure that it would be corrected on the website.


The Treasurer's report was then adopted.


5.         Election of Officers and Committee members


The Chairman thanked the retiring members of the Committee, Mr Barltrop, Mr Michael Foster, Dr Neil Hartman, Mr Roddy Houston, Mr Andrew McIntyre and Mrs Esther Webster for their service to the College during their term of office. He then reported that Mr Michael Foster, Dr Neil Hartman, Mr Roddy Houston, and Mr Andrew McIntyre had kindly agreed to serve a further term of three years. After a show of hands they were duly re-elected.  Mr Nicholas Boys Smith (m. 1993), proposed by Mr Tim Harding, was then elected by a show of hands to serve on the Committee for the coming three years. The Chairman said that there remained a vacancy on the Committee and proposals for anyone to be co-opted would be welcomed.



7.         Any other business 


There was none.



Dr S M Murk Jansen


July 2015