People entering the Chapel

You are here

Who's Who


The Dean

The Revd Dr Stephen Hampton

As well as teaching Theology, the Revd Dr Stephen Hampton is concerned with the well-being of every member of College, whether they are Chapel-goers or not, and is available every day for students to come and talk to. He read Law at Magdalene College, Cambridge, and then Theology at Wycliffe Hall, Oxford. He was ordained in the Diocese of Ely and served his title in the Parish of St Neots. In 1998 he became Chaplain, Fellow and Director of Studies in Theology at Exeter College, Oxford, where he also took a Masters and then a Doctorate in 17th century Anglican Doctrine. His particular research interests are the formation of Anglicanism, and the persistence of the scholastic method during the renaissance and early modern period. In his spare time he rows, walks and enjoys dinner parties. His rooms are in G Staircase, and he may be contacted by email ( or telephone (01223 338217).

Assistant Chaplain & Welfare Officer

The Rev'd Jennifer Adams-Massmann

The Assistant Chaplain and Welfare Officer joined Peterhouse in 2019 and is happy to support all members of the College community, whatever their faith or beliefs on matters related to welfare or spiritual questions. Please drop her an email to find another time to meet. Her email is jennifer.adams-massmann(AT) OR or you can call 01223 (3)38249 (NOTE: When she is working at home, this will forward to her mobile number).

Originally from the U.S., Jennifer received a B.A. degree in English & American Literature from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (USA) and a Master of Divinity degree from Duke University before moving overseas in 2002, first to Germany and then England. She has been a priest since 2007, serving in parish ministry, hospital chaplaincy, and college chaplaincy in Cambridge and Princeton. She is currently writing a Ph.D. on Protestant women missionaries in 18th century America based at the University of Heidelberg in Germany, where she formerly taught American religion to undergraduates. She is married and has one son and a fluffy Siberian forest cat named Rory who has his own Instagram account @rory.siberian for College cat lovers! When not spending time with family, in her free time Jennifer likes running along the Backs, reading, watching documentaries & musicals, dressmaking, singing Irish music & trying to learn to play the bodhran, or playing with her son and kitty, of course.

Director of Music

Dr Simon Jackson

The Director of Music is Dr Simon Jackson. Please contact him if you have questions about the choir or chapel music. Simon has an office in H1, Gisborne Court, and may be contacted by email (


Chapel Officers

LENT 2022


Daniel McKay, Harry Spillane, Grant Kynaston & Etienne Tracey

Please contact the Sacristans if you would like to read, serve or lead the prayers in Chapel services.


Bible Clerks                 

Undergraduate: Richard Blomqvist, Jacob Gaskell, Davit Minyasan, Pierre Meyer, Antoni Prus, Francesca Rix, Gergö Stomfai & Henry Vine

Postgraduate: Oliver Holdsworth, Molly Kiniry, Josey Parker & Trevelyan Wing


Organ Scholars        Hugo Williams & Shawn Li


Dean’s Vicars           Ryan Gilfeather & Ben Somervell