Research Fellowships

21 August 2015

The Governing Body of Peterhouse, applying the benefactions of the late William Stone, former Scholar of the College, and others, intends to elect a number of Research Fellows, who will enter upon their tenure on the 1st October 2016.

Candidates must by the 1st October 2016 have passed all examinations required for a first degree at a university and would be expected to have gained at least a 2.i classification or equivalent.  They should be capable of performing unsupervised post-graduate research.  Candidature is also restricted to those who commenced full-time research work on a Ph.D. degree no earlier than 1 October 2012.  Furthermore, candidates must be graduates of, or current students at, universities in the UK or the Republic of Ireland.

The electors will make a shortlist of candidates who will be invited to submit dissertations or other written work.  Some of these candidates will subsequently be invited for interview.  The Governing Body is seeking to appoint at least one outstanding scientist in the field of Physics, and particularly welcomes applications from candidates in this area, broadly defined.

The annual remuneration of a Research Fellow is at present £23,397 (non-resident in College) or £20,716 (resident), with an annual research allowance of up to £1,325.  Stipends will be subject to deductions in consideration of emoluments from other sources.  In the case of a Research Fellow who has not yet taken the Ph.D., the College may pay certain approved University fees.  Research Fellows are expected to engage in full time research, but may be permitted to teach for up to six hours a week and will be paid for this.  All Research Fellows are allowed seven free meals a week at the Common Table. There is an entertainment allowance in kind. The tenure is three years and in certain circumstances may be renewed. Up to one year’s absence may be granted.

View the online application for full details of salary, benefits and application procedure.

The closing date for receipt of electronic applications is 21 September 2015.