The Boathouse Redevelopment
Peterhouse was among the first colleges to establish a Boat Club in 1828. The present boathouse was built in 1928, with a single-storey boat shed being added in 1992. Ahead of the Boat Club’s bicentenary in 2028, the College plans to undertake much-needed repairs to the building as well as to refurbish and develop it so that it will serve the Club’s needs for the next 50-100 years. Currently space is quite limited for boat storage and maintenance and also for training – the ergs are in the men’s changing room! Training methods are also changing, especially as the river becomes ever more crowded. Many new boathouses now have spaces equipped with wifi where people can sit and work between outings. In order to make maximum use of the experience of Petrean oarsmen and women when considering the options, the College has established a committee consisting of ex-boaties and current College members to work with a firm of local architects to develop proposals for the development of its boathouse site.